The current Minister of Water and Sanitation served previously as Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform. He has a Masters Degree in Public Policy and Management from the University of London, and Bachelor of Administration Degree specialising in Political Science, Public Administration and Applied Economics from the University of South Africa. He was appointed Minister of Water and Sanitation in February 2018.


Deputy Minister of Water and Sanitation.Ms Tshwete’s past parliamentary positions have been Chairperson of PC Arts & Culture; Chairperson of Ad hoc Committee on Filling of Vacancy on Commission for Gender Equity; Whip for PC Joint Monitoring Committee on the Improvement of Quality of Life & Status of Women; Women's Caucus.She was appointed Deputy Minister of Water and Sanitation in May 2014.


Ms Ziphozethu Mathenjwa Ms Ziphozethu Mathenjwa


Msc in International Business Management (University of London); MBA UKZN; BSc (UZ); Postgraduate Diploma in Strategic Management and Corporate Governance (UNISA/ICSA); Certificate in Financial Management and Investment (UNISA)
Appointed for 1st Board term in June 2009
End of Board term: 30th June 2017

Re-appointed Chairperson of the interim Board in September 2017

Chairperson of Insika Foundation and the Sinafuthi Group; Board member of Denel SOC (Ltd); Board member Safran Turbomeca Africa; Board member of Mitsui African Rail Solutions; Mpumalanga Provincial Department of Economic Development; Environment and Tourism Audit Committee Chairperson

Ms Zodwa Manase Ms Zodwa Manase

Member & Audit Committee Chairperson

B.Com (UNISA), B.Compt (Hons) (UNISA), Higher Dip. Tax (University of Natal), CA(SA) (SAICA)

Appointed as Member of interim Board in September 2017

Current serves as TCTA Board Chairperson, CEO (Manase and Associates), Risk and Finance Committee (Chairman), Audit Committee, Governance Committee. Other Directorships/Trustees/Committee Memberships, Nelson Mandela Children’s Hospital Trust Fund (Trustee), PRASA, State Diamond Trader, Department of International Relations and Co-operation (Audit Committee Chairperson)

Ms Nompumelelo Chamane Ms Nompumelelo Chamane

Member & HR & REMCO Chairperson

Appointed to 1st Board term in June 2009
End of Board term: 30th June 2017

Re-appointed as Member of interim Board in September 2017

Chairperson of Umgeni Water Board HR and Remuneration Committee from 2009 to June 2017; Councillor with eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality; Experienced Liaison Officer with Provincial Structures of COSATU; Member of Albert Luthuli Hospital Committee; Board member of EU-funded Cato Manor Development Association; Chairperson of Finance Committee of St. Benedict Catholic Church
Mr David Dikoko Mr David Dikoko


Appointed as Member of interim Board in September 2017

Currently serves as Chairperson of the Board of Midvaal Water.
Certificate in Executive Leaders on LG 2000, Certificate in Development Planning and Management for Local  Government Councillors, Certificate in GEUS (Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland)                        

Mr Dikoko has vast knowledge in Local Government Legislation derived from the Constitution and Local Government White Paper. He also has in-depth understanding of structure and inter-relationship of the three spheres of Government, as well as ASGISA and JIPSA programmes. Has served as Executive Mayor of the most established District Municipality in the North West Province.

Mr Visvin Reddy Mr Visvin Reddy


Educator (Mathematics and Computer Science) by profession; Various Diplomas and Certificates in Management and Communications

Appointed for 1st Board term in June 2009
End of Board term: 30th June 2017

Appointed as Member of interim Board in September 2017

Seventeen years local government experience; Served on the Executive Committee of eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality, as well as Chairperson of the Infrastructure Committee; A member of various community bodies

Advocate Tshidi Hashatse Mr Midiavhathu Tshivhase


Appointed Member of the interim Board in September 2017

Currently serves as Chairperson of the Board of Lepelle Water.

His Majesty Thovhele Tshivhase is the Executive Head of the Tshivhase kingdom. He ascended the kingship throne at the age of eight years. His Majesty Thovhele Tshivhase has acquired qualifications in Law and has Juris Diploma which he acquired through the University of Zululand and has also obtained his BA Law from the University of Limpopo then known as University of the North / Turfloop. His Majesty Thovhele Tshivhase holds positions of great stature in various institutions




Mr Thamsanqa Hlongwa

Mr Thamsanqa Hlongwa

Chief Executive and ex-officio Member of the Board

Chartered Accountant (SA); BCom Honours

Appointed General Manager of Finance in July 2013

Chief Executive

Director of Msinsi Holdings SOC Ltd since 2014; Chief Financial Officer of KZN CoGTA from March 2007 to June 2013; Completed articles with Deloitte from 2002 to 2004; Audit Senior at Deloitte New York from 2004 to 2005; Senior Manager at Siyaya Management Services from 2005 to 2007; Served in sub-committees of SAICA and ABASA
Mr Msizi Cele

Mr Msizi Cele

Registered Engineer with Engineering Council of South Africa; Holds a Bachelor of Science: Mechanical Engineering degree from the University of Cape Town; Holds a Certificate in Government Competency from the Department of Labour

Re-joined Umgeni Water in November 2014. General Manager: Operations.

His previous places of employment were: Shell and BP Petroleum; Umgeni Water and uThukela Water, where he was Managing Director before he re-joined Umgeni Water as General Manager: Operations in November 2014.
Mr Steve Gillham Mr Steve Gillham

Registered Professional Engineer (ECSA); BSc Engineering (Civil); BCom

Appointed as General Manager Engineering and Scientific Services in 2012.

Director of Msinsi Holdings (Pty) Ltd from 2012. Planning Manager from 1999 to 2012. Engineer Umgeni Water from 1997 to 1999. Engineer with the Department of Water Affairs from 1984 to 1997.

Ms Moketenyane Fortunate Moleko Ms Moketenyana Fortunate Moleko

BCom degree from the University of South Africa, a Management Development Programme qualification from UNISA and an International Management and Marketing Programme qualification from HPTI Uberseezentrum in Germany.

Appointed as General Manager: Corporate Services January 2014.

Ms Moleko has held a number of leadership positions at various organisations, including the Eskom Leadership Institute, Eskom Transmission, MERSETA and South African Airways as  well as  the  lead consultant and  Director of Moketenyana HR Solutions.
Marsha Phillips Marsha Phillips

CA (SA), B Acc Honours

(Acting Chief Financial Officer)

Phillips is currently the Acting General Manager: Finance, a position she has held from August 2017. Prior to the Acting appointment, Ms Phillips had been Finance Manager from 2007. She was previously employed at Deloitte (trainee Accountant 2003-2005 and then Audit Senior on Secondment to Philadelphia in the United States for three months in 2006).




Admitted Attorney of the High Court of South Africa.
LLB (UZ); Postgraduate Diploma in Compliance (UJ).

Appointed as Company Secretary on 1 January 2014.

Umgeni Water Legal Services Manager until December 2013. Prior to that he was the Competition Commission’s Legal Counsel. Has extensive experience in private legal practice.