Executive Committee

Thamsanqa Basil Hlongwa 
Thamsanqa Basil Hlongwa   
Chief Executive
Msizi Cele Msizi Cele
Executive - Operations
Sbusiso Mjwara Sbusiso Mjwara
Executive - infrastructure development
Nomalungelo Mkhize Nomalungelo Mkhize
Executive - finance

Sipho Manana Dr Sipho James Manana
Executive - corporate services

Marsha Phillips 
Manu Pillay
Executive for Scientific & Engineering Services

Sibusiso Madonsela;
Sibusiso Madonsela
Company Secretary

Umgeni Water has a three-tiered management structure:

  • The Board of Umgeni Water is the official Accounting Authority as per the Public Finance Management Act (No.1 of 1999), as amended; (PFMA) and
  • The organisation's Executive Committee (Exco)
  • Senior managers

The 13-member, non-Executive Board guides the Executive team on strategic policy issues, and the sub-committees of the Board meet regularly and provide guidance to Management. Sub-Committees report to the Board on their activities in line with the developed terms of references.

The Chief Executive assisted by the Executive Committee implements decisions of the Board and manages the organisation on a day-to-day basis. This Executive structure is supported by a number of Senior Managers who provide technical information and assist the Executive team. On areas of strategic importance to the organisation, Umgeni Water consults and shares and receives information through Staff Information Sessions, Site Visits, the Staff Advisory Council and through bilateral meetings with Nehawu, the recognised union at the organisation.

Normal management meetings with staff are ongoing. Regular consultation and information meetings are held with customers, the Department of Water and Sanitation and the Parliamentary Portfolio Committee on Water and Sanitation, as well as with the investor community, to inform them of organisational matters.